A Single Man – 2009 – Film Review

15 Jul

Must of us in our mundane lives can only hope to achieve the intensity of love portrayed on this film.

Love that defies reason and escapes explanation, it just happens because it is supposed to.

This is as much as I allow myself to be without you.

This is as much as I allow myself to live without you.

The worst thing is that once you are left alone, becoming the only one capable of expressing such love, you suddenly run out of options.

Unless life itself gives you that second chance of looking at what you lost and turn it into joy and sheer pleasure, because your life is not over, until it has to end.

Tom Ford directed A Single Man the way I can imagine he designs clothes, with fabulous people surrounding him, with an incredible amount of colorful items for inspirations and great music. He gave the movie a palette of deep understanding and emotions, rarely met on screen.

It was not a standard choice to me, based on a book  by Christopher Isherwood and adapted by the director itself, curiosity drove me to the film mostly, and I soon forgot who was directing and was overtaken by the story.

I was mesmerized by Colin Firth, brilliantly portraying this heartbroken English teacher about his day, remembering better days and hoping all his suffering would end soon. His performance alone was so perfect I remembered saying to myself, “he is a god”.

So I was barely paying attention to the mood swings paired with color changes in the atmosphere (I only cached that at the end), once i saw it and put things together this film became bigger, deeper and more intense, it is as if my every day needed such palettes.

I have to recommend this 100%… it is so sweet and intense that you would want to see more like it.

By LaTrosa

 

Have your say

