The Campaign – 2012 – Review

8 Nov

The guy who was supposed to win…won!

The end.

If you vote for me I will punch you in the face.

Just kidding. I decided to join my american friends in their democratic pleasure of electing their president, by watching an election related film.

I chose The campaign only because I needed to see silly and untrustworthy politicians… (who in their right mind would like to see that?… apparently me) AND because I need a Will Ferrell fix.

I know little about american politics, but somehow behind the curtain of mockery we can find hidden all those unwanted secrets that become a loud protest.

As an american film it is clear what kind of behavior is it mocking; face it, nobody cares about Uruguayan politicians even if they are as creepy as everywhere else; somehow I feel is that the move speaks to us all, the people, the tax payer, the movie goer!

It was entertaining the usual Will Ferrell way (I wanted to see him as Bush, but I get why he did not use that), and Zach Galifianakis was a vision, that guy is brilliant!

A little over doing it on the stereotype but all in all a decent funny film.

Just one short note related to the subject of this film, Politicians are not really providing the tools for us to make them feel accountable for their actions and the not fulfillment of their job description, power and greed go hand in hand, we just need to educate ourselves about the power we have without falling into anarchy.

By Latrosa

4 Responses to “The Campaign – 2012 – Review”

  1. Tyson Carter November 8, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    I loved this, way more than I thought I would! The dinner table scenes, with the kids and their secrets had me in tears. And the police car bit 🙂

    • LaTrosa November 8, 2012 at 10:08 am #

      I agree that was some real quality comedy! Those two have chemistry!

  2. Nostra November 14, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    I’m usually a fan of Ferrell’s work, but was really disappointed by this one. Somehow I couldn’t laugh about much of it.

    • LaTrosa November 14, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

      I know, it was hard to laugh but it was serious comedy, he could have gone all the way but holding back is not his strong, he makes greater impact when he lets loose and he becomes this force of hard core fun!

Have your say

