Looper

23 Oct

I saw this movie too…

And even posted a very enthusiastic trailer earlier.

Stupid kid Listen to me, CUT DOWN THE CARBS!

BUT (yes, there is always one) and I am not saying the movie was bad or that I want my money back; Looper over-explained itself, and underestimated the audience.

We are intelligent people (well, I like to think that), the constant explaining about why and how  time travel and the repercussions of change were taking a lot of space from the very necessary action sequences.

It is a very good movie don’t get me wrong, reminds me of very old movies (like Universal Soldier) I enjoyed it,  much more than my companion, whom by the way, is regretting going with me… because of the above.

Because it was long overdue, a real original movie with brains into it and with 2 major actors OK maybe 3 major actors involved; I liked this movie, just not the attitude.

Acting was superb, I felt comfortable and well taken care of; we know what bad makeup can do to good people, in this case, makeup was another actor making Joseph Gordon-levitt look the part of a young Bruce Willis, maybe an even better looking one (And don’t get me started with the Rainmaker, that is some talent).

We will jump to the opportunity to give some heads up to our younger self  to try to avoid the mistakes of the future, specially telling you which people will try to kill you or break your heart (we all want to forget being dumped right?), what we don’t expect is to realize that the younger us was a douche and that the older us will be a selfish douche… CLEVER!

I recommend this film, we should all be getting used to new concept writing and time bending movies, refreshing and innovating proposals;  just need to let go of your egos and try to find the balance in storytelling because the potential is there.

Too much kissy kissy for my taste but all in all good entertainment.

By LaTrosa

4 Responses to “Looper”

  1. vinnieh October 23, 2012 at 6:54 am #

    Well written post.

    • LaTrosa October 23, 2012 at 11:25 am #

      Thank you but watch the movie ok?

  2. CMrok93 October 26, 2012 at 6:45 am #

    Good review LaTrosa. There’s a lot to like here, but there’s also a lot to notice that just doesn’t quite gel so well in the end. I didn’t fall in love with the characters as much as the film wanted me to, but I was interested and entertained by where they and the story itself were going, and that was enough for me to be like.

    • LaTrosa October 26, 2012 at 8:38 am #

      Thanks, never the less the movie is so new and refreshing I tend to not mind much!

Have your say

