Moonrise Kingdom

21 Oct

My childhood years on the big screen, how amazing is that! (all except the year )

I felt like someone was taping us, my siblings and my cousins  because it felt so real like deja-vu. The adventure and the fun, the colors and the nature, I felt mesmerized!

Thank You for marrying me!

I am short for words because those were some of the most amazing years of my life.

This movie is unbelievable, it is not a coming of age movie, it is a movie about that age when you have clarity, a brief moment  you are wise and things make sense, when nothing can stop you and you want to take the risks… the year before you hit puberty and your life starts sucking!

A very simple and clever premise, a scenario worthy of Shakespeare, filled with candid, funny and honest moments. We have this power struggle between  those who know what is right and those who think they know, victory goes to the ones that fight the most and never give up, without forgetting how innocence is bliss.

It is, without a doubt, one of the best cast ensembles of the year (is it like the 10th movie Bruce Willis is involved in) the movie is one of the best too, it should get nominated for big awards!

Moonrise Kingdom is up there with  Goonies, The Princess Bride or even Stand By Me, same group, able to captivate and become a cult movie.

I hate it when I have nothing remotely negative to write about a film but this one hit home very close and it is difficult to get over that.

Wes Anderson is that Director that won’t disappoint, he is that good!

By Latrosa

 

5 Responses to “Moonrise Kingdom”

  1. vinnieh October 21, 2012 at 6:14 am #

    Excellent review, I’m going to see this as soon as I can.

    • LaTrosa October 21, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      I keep in constant rotation! Love this film!

  2. Nostra November 14, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Nice to read it had such a profound impact on you and that you recognised so much. I’m normally not a Wes Anderson fan, but this movie was fantastic!

    • LaTrosa November 14, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

      I tell you, I was happy, really happy… it looked so real! It happens to me when I watch a Wes Anderson film, like real life!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Popped Corn Thanks you! « The Popped Corn - December 31, 2012

    […] Wes Anderson for transporting me into my childhood with such […]

Have your say

