Half Nelson

15 Oct

I will watch Ryan Gosling reading the phone book any time and I will still think he is brilliant.

Having said that, I know I can sound biased in my review, and in no way I want to come across a stalker fan, I just think that in all fairness, he is one of the greatest actors of our generation!

I can’t take care of myself much less my cat!

Now, the movie from 2006 was highly praised then, now I know why; he takes this person, a teacher, in incredible need of help and meaningful company, who does its best to try to contribute and help others, failing miserably at that, falling deeper into an addiction he thinks he can control.

He teaches history with a different approach, the reason why our future is shaped by those historical moments and how do we learn from the impact they cause.

The theme is opposites, the internal fight inside of us, that constant contradiction between teaching and preaching, double morals behind our actions, the sincerity in our eyes and our evil minds, and the struggle with what we want to do and what we do every day.

The lines are crossed by everyone, that single moment when someone discovers who you really are changes everything, that extra step of looking yourself in the mirror is the catalyst, and you suddenly realize you can do everything you tought was never going to happen… getting over yourself!

A truly pleasant indie movie, Half Nelson is intense captivating society, class, age and family uniting them by amazing acting directing and writing.

If you haven’t seen this film you  should, a bit soft at the end but good!

By Latrosa

2 Responses to “Half Nelson”

  1. vinnieh October 19, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    Great review, I want to see this one now.

    • LaTrosa October 19, 2012 at 11:05 am #

      Thank you, this film wont dissapoint you!

Have your say

