How to train your Dragon

3 Jul

Know yourself before you expect the same from others.

Or this movie better be called … how to train yourself! (My usual movie Psychoanalysis in 5.4.3.2.1)

Finding what you are good at might be a hard struggle, but it only takes one single person who believes in you, to give you the final push.

In my mind I am a pretty cool guy!

This animated movie from 2010 kept a low profile, I mean, it wasn’t greatly received, both critics and public kind of liked it but not fully, and there was not a lot of promotion, so maybe the makers did not trust their own movie, one about self-confidence… nice!

For starters,  it was weirdly named, (one word movie names are easy it our lazy times), so  it sounded more like a how to/for dummies guide, and the trailer was spoilery blah, at the end of the day… it under sold itself.

Once you watch it however, it is pretty clear that this is not an “advanced user” movie, it has a funny and easy story and the characters are very relatable, it is,  for me, a movie with a defined target audience.

I liked it, even more when I realized that dragons are a cool species, and I want to own a couple ( my Khaleese dream).

Do not over think this movie, it was funny and pleasant but that is about it… besides, nobody believed in it anyways.

By Latrosa

2 Responses to “How to train your Dragon”

  1. AndyWatchesMovies July 5, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    I think it’s one of the better Dreamworks films to date. I’ve been hopeful for a sequel.

    • The Popped Corn July 5, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      I wander if the sequel will be better received… because it will be sad to see another good movie wasted!

Have your say

