21 Jump Street

14 May

I was a fan of the TV show even after Mr. Depp’s exit, and all I can say is, well, apart from the cameos, this movie is pretty much on its own.

When you take a movie to spawn from an old TV show, there can be a dilemma, on one side, how faithful to be, on the other, how to make it look current.

How deep is your love!

So kudos to the people behind this movie, making it feel relatable without taking the essence of the TV show.

The film is funny, well paced and with some character hints that show real transformations, not just a wardrobe change.

I enjoyed it, it is not a stoner movie, but the stoner moment was one of the most incredibly funny scenes I have ever seen, I cried laughing and it happens not so often, so, stoner movies in the future should explore that (I won’t say what exactly because it will be spoilery)

It is a family comedy that might be safe in some moments, but delivers at the end.

If you haven’t seen this movie, it would be good to do it, won’t disappoint.

By LaTrosa

PS: I know I’ve said  Channing Tatum deserves a punch in the face, after this movie, he is starting to grow on me.

 

Have your say

